a “berry” wild dress

kid's clothes week

Yay! It’s Kids clothes week again! Time to celebrate spring… although here in Texas the summer heat is sneaking up on us already.

berry wild dress by Miestaflet

I absolutely love this “wild things” edition but I decided not to go with the theme. I’ve done my fair share of “wild things” sewing, but my girls get more picky. The bolder the prints, the longer it stays in their closet. On top of that, my oldest is on a handmade clothes strike for school wear. “All the kids in school wear only store bought clothes, mom”. I sigh, hoping this too shall pass and I’m grateful to have two more daughters.

berry wild dress by Miestaflet

This dress however … is a game changer! She LOVES it (I will not let her wear it for school though). When I bought the fabric (after these tops turned out lovely), I thought it would make a great summer dress.

berry wild dress by Miestaflet

My oldest adores the open back and the big pockets. I have read this post carefully and made the same changes (the skirt less wide and a 6y for my 8y old. At the end I took it in another 1/2 inch to prevent a gaping back).

berry wild dress by Miestaflet

My lack of patience won over my strive for perfection…always happens to me when I sew a pattern for the first time.

———————————————————-

berry wild dress by Miestaflet

Juij! Het is Kids Clothes week! Het lukte me nog net om één zomerkleedje voor de oudste dochter af te werken. Geen wilde beesten of hippe ananassen maar lieflijke aardbeitjes (of wilde bosaardbeien zoals Bieke op Instagram suggereerde). Het is tegenwoordig niet gemakkelijk om haar blij te maken met handgemaakt gerief maar met deze jurk werd er gescoord. Hoera!

berry wild dress by Miestaflet

Pattern: The Soleil Dress, by Selvage Designs
Fabric: Everyday Party by Emily Isabella for Birch Organic Fabrics

KCW

6 thoughts on “a “berry” wild dress

  1. Annick @ Minniemie

    Wat een prachtige jurk ❤ Ik ben bang voor het moment dat mijn dochter geen mama-maakt kleertjes meer wil dragen, maar ik kan mij wel voorstellen dat dat ooit gaat gebeuren. Ik las trouwens net jouw ‘about’ en die laatste zin zou ook over mij kunnen gaan🙂

    Reply
  2. boomie

    Mooi jurkje! Ik vrees hier ook het moment dat de zoon (en dochter, al is die nog maar 21 maand) geen handgemaakte kleertjes meer wil dragen. Daarom geniet ik nu dubbel hard wanneer hij zelf iets uit de kast kiest dat ik voor hem maakte… Een vriendin met oudere kinderen die al bijna 20 jaar naait, vertelde me dat het bij dochters wel terugkomt, eens ze voorbij hun tiener- en puberjaren zijn😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

